Maseno University

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size



 Maseno Chemistry Scholar appointed to Africa Future Earth Committee


Dr. Chrispin Kowenje

Maseno University Chemistry scholar Dr. Chrispin Kowenje has been appointed to the African Future Earth Committee (AFEC). The committee is coordinated by the International Council for Scientific Unions African Regional Office (ICSU-ROA).

Dr. Kowenje is the Chairman, Department of Chemistry and immediate former Coordinator at the Centre of Research in New and Renewable Energies (CRNRE) of Maseno University. He is a trained catalyst materials chemist with applications in environmental remediation (waste water purification) and bio-fuels production. He is also the Vice-Chairman to the Africa’s Research network in Africa on Pollution of the Environment (RAFPE).

The appointment to the Committee was endorsed by Maseno University and the Kenyan Government through the National Commission for Science Technology and Innovation (NACOSTI).

The membership of the committee reflects a fair geographical spread across all the sub-regions of the African continent as well as the diverse and trans-disciplinary nature of the stakeholders involved in Future Earth activities.

The Future Earth is an international hub that coordinates new, interdisciplinary approaches to research on three themes of: Dynamic Planet, Global Sustainable Development and Transformations towards Sustainability. Future Earth brings together a global network of scientists and scientific projects working across the natural and social sciences on critical global change and sustainability issues.