Maseno University

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
You are here: School of Medicine

Academic Staff of School of Medicine

The School of Medicine, located at the main Campus in Siriba, is accredited by the Medical Practitioners & Dentists Board. Its mandate is to train and produce health professionals and contribute to bridging the growing demand for medical practitioners in Kenya. The School admitted its pioneer students of the MBChB training programmein January 2012, and has now attained a full cycle of the programme, with an average of 60 students per year.

Pre-clinical teaching occurs at our state-of-the-art laboratory facilities situated in Siriba part of the main campus while clinical clerkships are undertaken in Kisumu, at JaramogiOgingaOdinga Teaching & Referral Hospital (JOOTRH) and Kisumu County Referral Hospital.

To be a medical school of excellence in the training of health professionals capable of addressing national and global health needs.

To produce healthprofessionals equipped with adequate knowledge, skills, professional attitudes and competencies in health care delivery, research and innovation.


 Quality training of health care professionals in the context of future professional practice in hospital and community settings with emphasis on delivery of health care services, research and innovation.

Core Values:

 Respect for human life and dignity
 Commitment to excellence and service delivery
 Practice of knowledge-led and evidence-based medicine
 Integrity, respect and professionalism
 Creativity and innovation


1. Undergraduate:

  • Bachelor of Medicine &    Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB) with IT

  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing with IT

2. Postgraduate:

  • Master of Medicine (MMed) in Family & Emergency Medicine


  • Master of Science (MSc) in Medical Physiology

1.Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery with IT

MBChB is a 6-year degree programme which provides quality training of medical students and produces graduates with adequate knowledge, attitude and competency in clinical care, health services management and medical research.

      Admission Requirements:

a) Mean Grade of B+, with B in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics or Physics, and English or Kiswahili in Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education.

  • or

b) Three principal passes in Biology and Chemistry and either Physics or Mathematics at Advanced (A) level of Education.

  • or

c) Diploma in Clinical Medicine from a recognized Medical Training Institution and registered as a Clinical Officer.

2.BSc Nursing with IT

This is a 4-year degree programme which produces graduate nurses who are well-equipped with the necessary knowledge, skills and attitude to provide care and support to patients in Kenya and beyond.

Admission requirements:

a) Grade of C+, with C+ in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics or Physics, and English or Kiswahili in Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education.

b) Diploma in Nursing from Kenya Medical Training College (KMTC) or any other training institution recognized by the University Senate

3.MMed in Family & Emergency Medicine

This 4-year postgraduate programme trains and produces a unique medical specialist with advanced knowledge, skills and competency in clinical care over a wide range of patient conditions, not limited by age, gender, and organ system nor disease entity, with special emphasis on emergency preparedness and care of acute cases.

Admission requirements:

a) MB.ChB, MBBS, MD or equivalent medical degree from institutions recognized by the University Senate, and have worked for at least two (2) years after internship.

b) Registered or registerable as a medical practitioner by the Kenya Medical Practitioners and Dentists Board.

4.MSc in Medical Physiology

This programme is designed to enhance the skills of those who use the knowledge of human body organs and cell functions in their profession to deliver clinical services, teach and conduct research. The programme, offered over a period of 4 years, equips students with advanced knowledge of human body functioning and an understanding of the body physiology at molecular, organ and system levels, and is intended to improve their academic, research and clinical practice.

Admission requirements:

a) MB.ChB, MBBS or MD; BDS; BPham; BVM; BSc in Zoology, Biomedical Sciences, Medical Laboratory Sciences, Environmental Health,     Nursing, Clinical Medicine and any other health-related degrees recognized by the University Senate.

b) At least 2 years of work or research experience.

The School has 14 departments offering integrated teaching of various courses of the programmes:

Each department, headed by the Chairman, has adequate appropriately qualified academic and technical staff, including Professors, Associate Professors, Senior Lecturers, Lecturers, Tutorial Fellows, and Laboratory Technologists. The Dean provides the administrative support, overall coordination and implementation of the School’s activities